Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2018-02-26, 03:38 AM   #1
uniscott
Unicyclist

Homemade Geared hub - high speed only

I recently finished building a geared hub that is simple, hopefully robust and inexpensive for road riding. I have been doing muni for the last 3 years and love it. I am planning to give RAGBRAI a shot if my body can hold together. Training will tell in the next few months.

I'm really comfortable on my 29'er, but I feel it is too slow. I'm not comfortable spinning super fast. The most practical thing would have been to buy a 36'er, but I am a little concerned about the size (it seems like a long way to fall) and haven't found any used ones anywhere close. I couldn't bring myself to spend $1700 on a Schlumpf hub since I'm really not into road riding.

Anyway, I needed a winter project and thought I would give this a shot. It came out much better than I had hoped. I have it laced up in 24" wheel now and set a lot of personal bests today - 14.3 mile ride, average speed just under 9 mph with a top speed of just over 15 mph (according to Strava, although in some brief out of control moments, I could believe it).

I found my butt, crotch and knees were all fine afterward compared to a 14 mile ride on my 29" wheel two years ago where I felt like a wreck after. I think the higher gear helps put more weight on the pedals, which takes weight off the seat.

Anyway, it's been a fun experiment. The video is kind of long, but if you're into geared hubs, check it out!

https://youtu.be/MOpBse1nByA
uniscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2018-02-26, 05:29 AM   #2
JimT
Unicyclist

An impressive project!