Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2012-02-18, 02:44 PM   #1
CrazyJazy
Just keep pedaling!

What makes a beginner a beginner?

I've been riding my unicycle now for a couple of years, its currently a Nimbus II.

I read these forums and talk to people and think of myself as a beginner but am i? Here's some of what I can do...

-ride forwards (duh :-P)
-ride backwards (at least a hall length)
-do 5 or so mounts including a side mount
-ride on my stomach (though I hate it!)
-idle for as long as I like and on other foot for 20 or so rocks
-i can hop with or without holding on
-i can skip with a rope whilst hopping
-currently learning to wheel walk though only 4-6 pushes so far before I come off...

So what do you think? There are so many people who can do so much more but what makes a beginner a beginner and when do you cross the line into non-beginner or whatever?
CrazyJazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-02-18, 03:47 PM   #2
knoxuni
wes style!!

Send a message via Skype™ to knoxuni
you cross the beginner like when you think you do.
Old 2012-02-18, 04:32 PM   #3
Fatlazypig
Unicyclist

Good question

If you're a beginner so am I
I have been able to ride a unicycle for 17 years
I can get on it and ride as far as I want
Can't do any fancy mounts. Can't do much other than forwards backwards and idle. But can do these well

It depends what you want and where you want to get to with your unicycling. I'm pretty happy with what I can do. I enjoy it
I don't think I'll ever be doing 5 stair sets or 540 s and I don't have a clue what a body varial is. But I can ride a uni. And can ride pretty well. So by my definition whether you're a beginner or not depends on your goal
Fatlazypig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-02-18, 05:02 PM   #4
From the Woods
reads trails rather than books