Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2015-08-18, 04:37 PM   #1
Catsmeat
Unicyclist

yoga and unicycling

I've long been in the habit of starting off most any exercise session, whether it's weightlifting, unicycling, or anything else, with yoga. You just can't beat it for the way it simultaneously clears the mind, limbers the muscles, and gets you sweating.

Yoga and unicycling are turning out to complement each other beautifully. As much as I love unicycling, it has caused me a little bit of knee pain, probably because I'm a beginner who's using bad form. Doing yoga completely takes care of that. At the same time, I've noticed I can hold certain yoga poses longer because of the increased endurance in my legs and lower back which I've gained from unicycling. I'm excited to see where this goes.
Catsmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2015-08-18, 05:40 PM   #2
elpuebloUNIdo
Viva la revolucion!

Unicycling has strengthened my core, but it seems now I'm worse at bending at the waist. Some yoga stretches would be a good idea.
elpuebloUNIdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2015-08-18, 06:18 PM   #3
Superbant
Unicyclist

Location: Far, far away in a place with a yard and two floors and a basement and a few unicycles and lots of books and tall trees and good food and some computers and lots of unicycle.com stickers and plenty of misspellings and bad grammar and run on sentances
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpuebloUNIdo View Post
Unicycling has strengthened my core, but it seems now I'm worse at bending at the waist. Some yoga stretches would be a good idea.
It's because you never really straighten your legs, they are always slightly bent, so your muscles get really tight. It happens to a lot of cyclist too, not just unicyclist.

Stretching helps me a whole bunch, helps both on and off the unicycle.
Old 2015-08-19, 04:36 AM   #4