Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > Unicycle Product Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2018-08-11, 02:29 PM   #1
gwymer
Unicyclist

QX 27.5 Versus KH 26 Muni

I will partially apologize right up front for the length of this review. However, if you are looking to spend the kind of money it takes to upgrade 1.5 inches, a thorough review is very helpful.
Today was my maiden voyage of my 27.5 QX Series Muni. I rode 6.6 miles on one of my usual trails at Oak Mountain Pelham Alabama. For those who know the mountain, I did Centipede and Jekyll & Hyde (black diamond). I have been riding a KH 26 muni for around 3 years now. It is stock with the 26 x 3.0 tire and the 150mm cranks and weighs in around 12 lbs. The QX series I just got has the 27.5 x 2.4 tire and 145mm cranks. It too weighs in at just over 12 lbs. Both unicycles have the dual-hole cranks. The 27.5 QX cost me less than the 26 KH did.
So here are the results: Mounting the QX was almost exactly the same. The amount of energy and effort needed to ride the QX 27.5 was almost exactly the same as the KH 26. What I could ride on the KH I could do on the QX. My logic behind that is that even though the cranks are shorter and the wheel is bigger around, the tire is smaller and lighter at the outside of the circle, so the energy needed was the same. Now, the big difference—was the speed. I could definitely tell a difference in the amount of ground I was covering. Mathematically, I am covering 4-5 inches more each revolution and with the shorter cranks, also pedaling a shorter distance. My overall time was better today with the QX.