Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2018-09-04, 11:19 AM   #1
Vogelfrei80
Beginner

Freewheel tips

I'm starting learning freewheeling (I'm a newbie/low level unicyclist). Is it ok that I'm freewheeling at every half stroke even if I'm always braking at medium level? I also fall every half stroke
Do I need to go faster (braking less/pedaling more)? Is there a way to go slow (I'm a bit scared).
I use a 29" with disc brake
Vogelfrei80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2018-09-04, 11:55 AM   #2
Mikefule
Bridge of Otherwhere: on Kindle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vogelfrei80 View Post
I'm starting learning freewheeling (I'm a newbie/low level unicyclist). Is it ok that I'm freewheeling at every half stroke even if I'm always braking at medium level? I also fall every half stroke
Do I need to go faster (braking less/pedaling more)? Is there a way to go slow (I'm a bit scared).
I use a 29" with disc brake
You have a freewheeling unicycle? Never tried one. However, common sense says that smooth and reasonably fast with a little speed in reserve will be easier than wobbling along from pedal stroke to pedal stroke. In all unicycling, it helps to go at things confidently, but to have enough left that you can accelerate out of a potential UPD. In all unicycling, riding slowly requires more and bigger corrective actions because something that is rolling smoothly and fast has dynamic stability.
Old 2018-09-04, 12:48 PM   #3
OneTrackMind
Unicyclist

Never tried a freewheel and maybe never will but here are my observations.

My impression is that freewheel riders have the frame angled further back (and lean their body correspondingly further forward to keep the centre of mass above the contact point) than an ordinary rider. This increases the available range where where the system is quasi-stable.