Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Non-unicycling Discussion > Just Conversation & Introduce Yourself

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2017-07-31, 11:47 AM   #1
unigor
Un(i)balanced

New unicyclist here!

Hi everyone!

I just started training with a unicycle couple of days ago. I'm 43yo and cycling (road and mtb) has been a hobby of mine for about three decades. Unicycling wasn't something I had even thought about doing, but last week my cruiser bike got stolen, so I started looking at used bike ads online (hoping to catch the thief...) and saw a nice looking QU-AX Luxus 20" for sale. I thought to myself how hard can it be, and picked it up last Friday for 60€.

It had a 200mm seatpost, which is a bit too short (even for me), but I started with it anyway. I did order a longer seatpost, it should arrive today. I'm hoping it'll make the riding experience a bit less black and blue.

Here's a short compilation of the first hour of failing:
https://quik.gopro.com/v/jYSxU52On5/
Attached Images

unigor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-07-31, 03:07 PM   #2
elpuebloUNIdo
Viva la revolucion!

Welcome to the forum! Thanks for posting the video. Nice to see you're using safety equipment, especially wrist guards. Good luck, and keep practicing!
elpuebloUNIdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-07-31, 04:45 PM   #3
mnunirider
Unicyclist

Welcome to the wonderful world of one wheeling!

I find it both funny and sad at the same time how many people I hear about getting into unicycling because they had a bicycle stolen. I myself wouldn't have gotten as into unicycling as I am had my bike not been taken. Both it and my first uni were chained together to a pole on my patio. The thief took the bike but left the uni, I took it as a sign and have not touched a bicycle in over a year now.

Keep up with the practice, your first hour looks better than my tenth!
mnunirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-07-31, 09:29 PM   #4