Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2009-03-25, 02:27 PM   #1
shahyaz
Unicyclist

Tires?

Hello,

I'm not entirely sure where to post this.. I posted in the tutorials section, but figured I'd cover my bases... I am very new to the world of unicycling, having just been given an old Norco... I need a new seat and tire, but I'm not quite sure how to go about buying them... Can I go to a bike shop and get a bike tire? Or are there specialty tires for unicycles?

Its a 24" wheel, and i would be mostly starting off with regular street unicycling. Perhaps in time I'd work up to off-road cycling.

I live in Canada, where I know Unicycling is not a huge thing...

Can anyone give me advice? I don't have a lot of cash to spend, so if there are more frugal options, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks so much!
shahyaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-03-25, 03:43 PM   #2
agentQ
Sam Haber

Send a message via AIM to agentQ Send a message via MSN to agentQ
Just go to the your bike shop as for an affordable 24" tire that will work well on pavement and still offer some traction for getting into off road riding. They will have something for you, or at least be able to order it.

As for specific tires, which to get is preference and opinion. Many like the Maxxis "Hookworm". Its smooth for road, and still has enough volume and traction for mild offroad.

Whats up with Street and Flat?
the Unicycle Lab
agentQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-03-25, 07:28 PM   #3
ntappin
Ask me about the Ottawa unicyclists

Send a message via MSN to ntappin
I don't know why you say unicycling is not a huge thing in Canada, we had two Unicons here, and there are tons of unicyclists everywhere!

You can order tires from Bedford Unicycles or Municycle.ca, or you can go to a local bike shop or sports store and just pick up a 24" tire.