PDA

View Full Version : Need help with stuff :D

unitoon
2006-04-14, 12:01 AM
hey, i'm new to unicycling (i started about a year ago) and i need some help with things. i can go on my unicycle anywhere i want pretty much but i'm working on these:

idling
going backwards
jumping (i can get about 4-5 in. off the ground)
up stairs
down stairs w/ out railing

if you can give me any tips with any of these things it would be terrific. thankies!

monkeyman
2006-04-14, 04:27 PM
idling
here (http://www.unicyclist.com/forums/search.php)
going backwardshere (http://www.unicyclist.com/forums/search.php)
jumping (i can get about 4-5 in. off the ground)practice more, you'll get stronger/better at it
up stairs
practice jumping more, and then, when you think you've got it down, jump up some curbs...you can probably do it...you can usually jump a lot higher if you actually have a target
down stairs w/ out railing
like rolling hops? static hops? eh?

unitoon
2006-04-14, 10:31 PM
rolling hops

Jerrick
2006-04-15, 09:12 AM
for rolling hops down stairs, you want to make sure your pedal are in the right position when your gonna jump, so ride up to the point where you will jump off, then ride backwards until you have a good run, then just go for it, or you can do a 180 hoptwis, ride to a spot, hop back around, then ride at it.

Start with 2 stairs, then 3, then four, and keep going up.

For idling, just go up to a rail, and hold onto, then start to idle, get used to it, and rely less and less on the rail, soon you'll be able to be riding, stop and idle, and ride off, practice with each foot down, and keep extending how long you can idle.

Going backwards, you pretty much just have to relearn to uni, but going the opposite way, start by riding, then stop, lean back a little and start pedaling backwards, or start off facing a wall, then push off, you'll progress slowly but surly, just like when you were learning to ride fowards =p