Broken hand...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Broken hand...

I fell off my muni a month ago and broke my 4th metacarpal - Had to have it manually reduced (aligned) the day after it happened and because it's a rather oblique break, it needed to go onto "the rack" to have it pulled apart under traction and re-aligned - twice. OUCH.

The last-chance traction/alignment @ 2.5 weeks seems to have gone well and it looks like I may only lose about 2mm of bone length which isn't bad but not spectacular, either.

I'm out of the cast in two more weeks. I know my hand and fingers will be stiff and the doc says about a month for reasonable flexibility to return with some basic stretching exercises (and the fact that I type for a living - programmer). They've mentioned the bone shortening as possibly affecting grip strength. They're not concerned about rotation, the doc was actually very pleased with the lack of rotation.

Doc says 3 months to return to activity and 6 months for 100% bone strength and that's about when I can risk falling on it again (in the normal non-breaking sense!).

Does anyone here have some experience and/or insight for my recovery and possible long-term effects of this particular injury? This is my first broken bone. I'm 43 years old.

Oh, and the fall was the "perfect storm" - I slipped, twisted right just in front of a mound off to the side and basically drove my open left hand into the mound as I was falling. I felt and heard an unmistakable snap and once I figured out the joints were OK, I felt the bones crunching around in my hand and knew what had happened.

[ATTACH]55920[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]55921[/ATTACH]

Comment

Unlucky chap, I am sure Nurse "Broken Fingers" Ben will be along in a minute to give you some advice

I would so be riding anyway (stupidly) I would strap my hand up in some sort of guard/glove to protect it, short of a broken leg/foot I am stupid and stubborn and don't like being told what to do by doctors or my body