Ankle Support?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ankle Support?

I have been unicycling for a couple of years now, but just riding. I haven't really dove into doing anything special yet, but I know I am ready. My question is, is ankle support from your shoes good or bad? High top shoes or low tops? I don't care about personal preference, I want to know what is actually the best for unicycling, specifically trials.

Also how do I change my profile picture, I am new to this site :P

Comment

High top shoes don't give you a significant amount of ankle support - they do protect your ankles from hitting the cranks though. If you need proper ankle support, then you need to tape them or use specific support - but you're only likely to need that if you have particularly dodgy ankles. I used to tape my right ankle for running off-road, but have now managed to strengthen it enough that I don't need that any more - though both ankles are still prone to turning over. However I've not felt any need for extra support when riding a uni, and can't envisage any particular reason for needing it (mind you I'm not doing trials and don't have any experience of extreme riding).
      Unicycling: great for your thighs.

Comment

I really don't need ankle support, I just want to know if high top or low top shoes are better for unicycling, mostly for trials.

Comment

I use lace-up ankle braces for trials and muni. They save my ankles from occasional awkward landings, and they give a little bit of protection on crank-to ankle-bone hits.

I think high-top shoes do nothing for ankle support. They do give more protection from ankle-bone hits, but I don't find that I need that. They also get in the way a lot. It's really awkward when your shoe catches the crank on the way by.
          Last edited by tmoyer; 2011-12-18, 08:11 PM.

)-OTGTrials-

)--360unispin08--O

Comment

Unfortunately there is no right answer for your question. Its a personal choice by each rider.