Muni: tires, spinning and other questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Muni: tires, spinning and other questions

I'm very new to muni and I'd like to ask a few questions.

First tires and pressures. I'm riding a Kenda K-Rad 24x2.3. I have so far run it at 40 plus pounds. The other night I dropped the pressure to see how it would do. I'd guess i was stil around 30 pounds. I thought I was going to have to walk back the the parking lot. I could barely stay upright as the uni wallowed from side to side. Is this a case of using the wrong tire? I was doing okay with the higher pressure but wanted to see if I could roll over small obstacles easier at lower pressure.

The trail I'm riding on is pretty basic so it's more XC than technical. I assume any tire running at low pressure will require more effort to achieve the same speed. I'd like to try a tire that I could run at low pressure to see which I like for the conditions I ride in. Any recommendations?

Next question concerns technique. As you improve do you spend a larger percentage or your time spinning the pedals? Here's what I mean. On relatively smooth sections I try to spin smoothly at a high cadence and seem to roll pretty well over any small roots or rocks. If I get to rougher (for me) sections I start trying to pedal in 1/2 strokes so my feet are at the 3 o'clock and 9 o'clock position to give me a better chance of staying upright. Is this pretty common?

Thanks for any help.

Take care,

Brent