Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unicycling for afghani kids- ride blog

Hey everyone,
    Have to make this quick because the internet at this servo is really overpriced. So i started riding on Friday morning after a really welcoming morning tea at the Afghani embassy in Canberra. I headed through the suburbs until i hit the monaro highway and started to head towards Cooma. The weather was pretty dismal, compounded by long hills and a bit of a headwind the riding was tiring and at times frustrating. After battling through it all, the riding got a little better and i made good time in the afternoon. By nightfall i made it to Breadbo (76km) and we stopped in at the pub for a beer.
    Luckily for us the owners of the pub were very kind and put us up for the night, and gave us a free counter meal. The next morning we left at 9ish and headed to Cooma- i had a newspaper interview organised for lunch time, so i hauled ass and made it in time- but left myself pretty wrecked for it. After a kip in the front seat of the the titanic (Alex's volvo- and my support car for the first 6 days) we continued the climbing into Australia's Highlands and made plans for Nimitabel.

The trees dissapeared from the landscape, as we forged our way over the Great Dividing Range. We gained 300m in height and lost a few too many degrees for my liking, but it was satisfying riding into the little town, having crossed Australia's best excuse for a mountain range relatively intact (70km). We stayed the night in the Federal Hotel, and again managed to score a good deal on accomodation.