Trying to WEEN myself off the wall

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to WEEN myself off the wall

Hi Everyone--here is a question for those of you who remember what it was to need a wall to ride. And yes, I'm a beginner--with 6 weeks of beginning riding behind me...

I ride pretty well as long as there is a wall on my left that I can tap on with my gloved hand to keep from toppeling over.

Once I get away from the wall, I can go between 3 yards to 6 yards before botteming out (actually, I'm really good at gracefully letting my uni fall out from under me, and I always land on my feet)

I always fall to the right. Always--I don't know why.

However, when I ride with the wall on my right, I can not ride as smoothly, and it is a lot harder than riding with the wall on my left.

I am getting sick of the wall, and I always put in at least a couple of hours each day. Does it sound like I'm doing something wrong? Despite this lack of progress with regards to the wall, I know I'm getting better, but still, it's a bummer to always need that goddamned wall. Any suggestions?

For reference-- I ride a nimbus 26 inch with a Yuni frame, and the tire is a Duro Wildlife Leopard Knobbly 3 inch tire. I know I may be learning on a wheel that is too big, but I am about 6'4", and I thought I would need a bigger tire--before buying, I tried out a few, and this tire felt right, but maybe I bit off more than I could chew, I don't know.

How does one ween himself off the wall?

--Steve
    EX-Unicyclist...because I did not wear elbow pads.

All I want out of life is to be able to ride the unicycle while smoking a cigar at the same time. Is that too much to ask for?
    www.dogbowl.com / www.eyeballplanet.com

Well, first, a 26" tire is rather large for learning on, most people learn on about a 20", but that doesn't mean you can't learn on it, it just might be harder.