Knee Pain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knee Pain

I've been unicycling for 6 months now and have strugged with intermittent knee pain. I came into unicycling with problematic knees. At first I couldn't ride more than a few miles before my knees flared up, but that stopped being a problem once I built leg strength. Then I started doing muni without a brake, and going miles downhill was too hard on my knees. But again I built up leg strength some more and the knee problem went away.

However I overdid it last week. I went 20 miles over the weekend, including over 10 miles of muni and 6 of unicycling my dog. My dog pulls, which translates to stress on my knees. That really messed my knees up and I couldn't unicycle the week after.

This week I've been trying to get lightly back into it by riding around on my little 20" unicycle. The tiny cranks don't cause a problem for my knees unless I go up or down something steep. I also noticed that my 29" which has 114mm cranks also doesn't stress my knees out, as long as I stay away from the hills (which normally are no problem, but again, my knees are recovering).

I should mention that besides my small 20" and 29" with 114mm cranks, my muni is a 26" Torker LX with I think 175mm cranks; they're very long.

Are long cranks and/or riding muni without a brake associated with knee pain? If it weren't for my dang knees I would be doing muni every day. It sucks, they're my weakest link.

My knee pains disappear with my cranks set at 150mm.
    I do have intermitten knee pain now with my cranks at 127mm.

Unless it's straight up the mountain, I never use my 150 setting anymore because of the smooth ride I get everywhere else with the 127 holes. 150 just seems so clunky.

So for me, shorter cranks cause knee pain.
    My knees are in bad shape already from years of hard play so strength exercises are a regular routine for them also.

Comment