Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time to reduce the saddle height ?

Hi all,

I am trying to increase the height of my hops, with the hope I can do some basic trials riding in the future. Doing some tricks would be cool too. I want to be able to jump onto and over obstacles. To do this I have reduced my saddle height. This has made unicycling more difficult again. My directional skills are all over the place again and I am UPD alot more than I had been.

My skill level would be basic, I have been riding for about 12 months. I can ride forward and backwards, idle and hop, freemount, side mount. I am learning seat out in front riding at the moment and one foot idling but I have a bit of a way to go before I can do either of those skills.

My question to you good people is, was it too soon for me to drop the saddle ?

Many thanks.

Learn to ride SIF (seat in front) and you won't have to lower your seat. I actually raised my seat more as I was learning SIF. Now I can perform freestyle techniques, then pull out the seat for jumps/drops/technical stuff. If you envision riding a larger wheel with the comfort/power/control of handlebars, I suggest starting to learn SIF riding on a smaller wheel right now. It'll take some time, and you'll realize what a great upper body workout it is. Just my two cents...take it or leave it.

Comment

Originally posted by elpuebloUNIdo View Post
      Learn to ride SIF (seat in front) and you won't have to lower your seat. I actually raised my seat more as I was learning SIF. Now I can perform freestyle techniques, then pull out the seat for jumps/drops/technical stuff. If you envision riding a larger wheel with the comfort/power/control of handlebars, I suggest starting to learn SIF riding on a smaller wheel right now. It'll take some time, and you'll realize what a great upper body workout it is. Just my two cents...take it or leave it.