Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I want to buy a giraffe but don't know where to start.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I want to buy a giraffe but don't know where to start.

I've been riding my Sun flat top 24inch for about 2 years now, and I want to graduate to a giraffe but I dont really know where to start. I dont know what a good brand is, or even where I can browse different models. I was hoping I could find a giraffe with a 24inch wheel, but most that I have seen are 20 inches. Maybe some of the veterans would be able to point me in the right direction, and give me some tips.

Unicycle.com and/or eBay. Watch eBay long enough, and a Schwinn Giraffe will eventually show up. They were very well made. That's a 6' machine; most of the less expensive ones these days are 5-footers. To me, those are for kids. But to the average bystander, they both look at least 10' tall so don't worry about your image.

Giraffes have 20" wheels because going fast on one is generally a silly idea. there are much better machines for riding fast, especially since 36" unicycles came along. 20" wheels are great for idling, so you can juggle without going anywhere, etc. Also you can fit more pedal turns onto a small stage. When it comes to unicycles, most stages are too small.
    John Foss
    www.unicycling.com

"Who is going to argue with a mom who can ride a unicycle?" -- Forums member "HiMo"

Comment

I think it depends what sort of riding you plan to do on your giraffe. Trials? Muni? Street? What sort of drops do you expect to be doing? It is possible to grind some very high rails on a giraffe, but on the other hand, you need a very grippy tyre if you're going to be hopping from one skinny to another. If you plan to do uni spins, choose a frame with plenty of torsional rigidity otherwise you may get significant lag between the seat spinning and the wheel following. No one wants to be riding a barleytwist giraffe, do they?